Never Before…

I am not what you would consider an art buff.  Sure, I love pretty pictures and enjoy graphic design, but I have never really cared much for art exhibits or paintings.  One of the main courses I avoided with great care in college was Art History.

I only say these things to help you understand how deep of an impression one artist and their works has made on me today.  When browsing through the “People You May Know” section of my dashboard, I noticed a page for the Darkest Dreams A Lighted Way exhibit.  Upon opening the page, I was intrigued and decided to have a peek at the art that had been displayed during the exhibit.  Immediately, I was drawn to the art of the Exhibition Curator & Director, Aunia Kahn.  Upon seeing her works of art, I was deeply touched by the raw emotion that she is able to convey, and the way that she captures the inner struggles of victims of abuse.  Never before have I been so moved by a work of art, as I was by “We Soon Forget” and “One Day After” (as seen in Aunia’s Our Human Error Gallery).

After viewing Aunia’s works of art and jewelry, I now know why art can be so captivating.  In order for art to have meaning, it must touch us on an emotional level and connect with some part of our soul.  Each work of art will speak to us differently, some may never speak to us at all.  However, for each piece of work, there is at least one person who will be forever changed by the connection that they have made with the heart of the artist, and with themselves.

For now, the only words I have left are, I am completely in awe….

Leave a Reply

